Review: REN Evercalm Cleansing Milk for Sensitive Skin

REN-evercalm-gentle-cleansing-milk-ohhhoney-2017-reviews-rosacea-skin-sensitive.png

Although Papulex has been working wonders for me for the past two years, I felt like trying something new to help with the redness I still experience with my Rosacea.

I’ve recently picked up the Evercalm Cleansing Milk from REN, a clean skincare brand which claims to exclude parabens, sulphates, additives and more from their products. Here’s my thoughts on one of their best rated cleansers.

READ MORE

Ingredients

The ingredients highlighted are flagged as acne triggers and several ingredients has a low safety score on COSDNA.

Aqua (Water), Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Caprylic/ Capric Triglyceride, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Myristyl Myristate, Glycerin, Cetearyl Glucoside, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Oryzanol, Bisabolol, Hippophae Rhamnoides Fruit Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Citric Acid, Tocopherol, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Oil, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Cinnamomum Camphora Linalloliferum (Ho Wood) Leaf Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Foeniculum Vulgare (Fennel) Fruit Extract, Parfum* (Fragrance), Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Citronellol, Limonene, Linalool *100% Natural Fragrance – Parfum 100% Naturel

First Impressions

Their packaging eschews the clean skincare look as well. The cleansing milk is actually housed in a plastic bag placed into a clear bottle, and the design ensures that you’ll get most of the product out without wastage.

The scent is very subtle and has a light citrus note to it. The texture is quite amazing, and the best way to describe it is something like ‘melted butter’.

Results

I use around 2 pumps, and massage it gently onto my face for two minutes, before wiping it off with my Swisspers cotton pads. I will then rinse with lukewarm water to ensure I’ve gotten it all off. There’s no residue left behind after rinsing and the skin feels fresh and comfortable, and comparatively less red than if I were to use a foam cleanser.

Priced at $50 for 150ml, it is quite reasonable if you can stretch it for a 2-month usage period. I’m not even done with my first bottle, and have already purchased a new one for back-up cause I didn’t want to run out.

UPDATE: With constant use (three months), my skin got more dehydrated and I started breaking out everywhere (even in places where I do not usually breakout). I suspect it is the oils present in the product which broke me out as I did not change any other part of my routine. After I replaced this product with my trusted Papulex, my breakouts subsided.

If you have acne / sensitive skin problems like me, do note that there are ingredients that may trigger acne / sensitivity.

2 comments

  1. This was a very informative product review for this cleansing milk. I’ve suffered from rosacea for nearly 15 years now and I’ve found limited success using OTC topical creams and laser therapy. I will give this cleansing milk a try. It sounds like there’s some potential here. The tricky thing about rosacea treatments is what works for one person may do nothing for someone else But it is definitely worth the try — thank you for your input.

  2. I love REM products. I was first recommended them by my partner’s sister who put them on her wishlist for Christmas. I started using them myself and found that they are amazing and as a Rosacea sufferer they did not cause me any problems at all. I would also not hesitate to recommend them. I have tried many products to help my Rosacea acne and find that all natural products can be extremely powerful and they have had great results for me. http://calmrosacea.com

Leave a Reply

