How to calm Rosacea flare-ups quickly

“Rosacea is known as a disorder of flare-ups and remissions, where symptoms come and go, so the goal is not only to decrease the severity and duration of flare-ups, but to maintain remission to increase the length of time between outbreaks,” – Dr. Julie Harper, clinical associate professor of dermatology at the University of Alabama-Birmingham.

Waking up with a Rosacea flare-up / breakout overnight isn’t the easiest thing to deal with… Here’s some of my tried and tested methods of how to get a Rosacea flare under control in the shortest time.

  1. Keep to the bare minimum
    My skincare only consists of a cleanser and an oil-free moisturiser, which is already the most basic. Some of us do have more intensive regimes filled with serums, lotions, oils, creams. Scrap them for the time being during a flare, and just stick to the bare minimum – which is cleanse and moisturise. This helps to let your skin breathe and also not make things any worse.
  2. Take fever medicine
    I discovered this when I got really ill some time ago, and realised that my skin cleared up with minimal redness. How strange! I usually look worse when I am ill. I looked at the meds and realise there’re two types of anti-inflammatory meds (one for sorethroat and the other being ibuprofen) that I took. It’s not really the most legit way but if taking fever medicine can calm a bad flush down, why not?
  3. Good quality sleep always helps
    When I say sleep, I mean good quality sleep. Sleep decreases stress levels and that’s something very important for someone who is stressed out with his/her outbreak. Do not overheat when you sleep. Many people tend to be addicted to warmth, meaning they wrap themselves up with a thick comforter even if it’s not really that cold. I am one of them. You’ll end up sweating while sleeping, leading to red, oily skin when you wake up in the morning. Keep ventilated and only use a thin blanket if it’s cold.
  4. Treat with an anti-inflammatory mask
    I use a highly anti-inflammatory mask when having a flare-up from Honeylab – Honevo Rosacea. Just spread a thin layer of kanuka honey and do my thing for a few hours, and the inflammation/redness is always greatly reduced. While doing the mask, try to relax, and drink a lot of water to flush out toxins.
  5. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate
    The most instinctive thing to do when one is flushing is to grab ice water and down it in an instant. But no, stay away from iced water. Your body uses more energy to heat up iced water, creating more heat in the body instead. Keep to regular temperature water. The trick is to drink and keep on peeing till your pee is clear. I notice when I have a flare-up, I will usually have dark yellow pee.

Even the strongest person can break down at times dealing with this condition. There is no cure. There is no remission forever. When it comes back, deal with it. Once you stop fighting, it consumes you – it doesn’t just stop there, it keeps getting worse.

Take care and keep fighting, fellow Rosaceans.

One comment

  1. Have you tried Drunk Elephant’s Pekee soap bar? I had pretty severe rosacea and it decreased the redness + acne-like-rashes by at least 50% in a matter of a week or so. My skin is also more hydrated, and doesn’t break out as easily (unless I go ham on MSG food products haha).

Leave a Reply

