Kanuka Honey Update 5 (Honevo Rosacea)

Hi ~ It’s been some time since I last updated on my Honevo Rosacea journey.

The other day, (a good skin day) I was looking into the mirror very closely to see how my skin has improved. Redness has definitely decreased, pores look smaller, and overall no active zits. With a light layer of CC cream on, people will probably not be able to tell that I have Rosacea. I was pretty happy that the treatment is working well for me.

The very next day when I woke up…. Redness, roughness, tiny clusters of breakouts with some pesky whiteheads appeared, overnight. I sighed, cried a little and wondered just how long more I have to go through with this shit.

With Rosacea, the toughest part is when you think you’re 80% recovered, and boom the next day you’re back at square one. I think even Acne is not that hard to treat, cause Acne appears over time. You rarely get a full face of pimples in just one night.

READ MORE

I decided to think back on the past few weeks. In the past, I used to have this kind of breakouts every other week. Clear skin for 3 days, breakout for 3 days. Cycle repeats itself but the breakouts almost certainly happens every other week or two.

Now, I don’t remember having this kind of breakout / rash appearing overnight. Even if they do, they are mild, and will go away in a day or two. I think killing mites takes a long time, and there’s definitely improvements, just that there can be setbacks once in a while.

Thus, my improvements from using 5-6 tubes of Honevo Rosacea till now are:

  • Areas with open pores like forehead, beside the nose area and chin are now less scaly and feels more balanced
  • My weekly/bi-weekly routine breakouts/rashes is improved
  • Skin is moisturised and feels really soft after washing off the honey

Hoping the Honevo Rosacea keeps improving my Rosacea. Recently re-ordered my Honevo Rosacea and decided to get a tube of Honevo Acne. On the label, it says it’s the same ingredients but they are of a different pricing. Guess I will know when it’s here. Will update again soon :)

Chat again soon, xoxo

15 comments

  1. stumbled on your blog about you having rosacea. I suddenly have my cheeks red and hot. Feels like it’s burning. This happened after the doc diagnosed me with mild excema and gave me elomet cream which is steroids. After I placed this on the third time, cheeks became red and hot. Might have rosacea ? I don’t know but I need to know the name and address of doctor that cured your rosacea.

    Please help me once you read this mail! It’s tough having this how did you cope?

    1. hi dear, I can’t tell you if you have rosacea but when mine started, my face felt very hot and was burning on and off all the time. Best is to control it if it really is Rosacea before it gets worse.

      I saw Dr Kan at Trinity medical centre. Started using a range of products called Papulex that worked very well for me. You can try calling them for appointment at (+65) 63440027!

      1. Thank you for your quick reply! Appreciate it. I went to Joyce Lim at Paragon and she said mild excema. My ears are also red and hot to the touch.

        I read that you went to nsc first and got diagnosed with rosacea and sd can you provide me with that doctors name then please? As I would like her to diagnose me as well as I feel that for dr kan at trinity is more known for laser and facial treatments not to diagnose rosacea or excema .

      2. Hi, my doctor at NSC is Dr Priya Sen. She’s a senior consultant :)

        Yes, do seek second opinions as what I faced when having rosacea was mis-diagnosis of condition. Only when you’re properly diagnosed then you will be treated for the right condition.

        Good luck babe!

      3. Thanks for sharing Dr Priya Sen’s contact. Googled her and found out she has her own clinic now? Why did you stop going to her and went on to Trinity’s Dr Lim then?
        Priya’s medicine didn’t work ?

      4. Dr Priya was hard to get an appointment with at that time. NSC is always crowded and you can only go during work hours. She also told me my condition wasn’t bad enough to do IPL, thus I left to seek elsewhere to improve my condition further :)

      5. Dr Priya gave me antibiotics which I didnt take by the way. But cause she diagnosed me with seb derm – so she treated the seb derm first, and then the rosacea which works perfectly.

      6. I’ll go see her at her clinic tomorro then. What antibiotics was it , were you just scared to be on antibiotics ?

        Also can I ask what cream medicine did she give you for your rosacea ?

        And how long did it take for your rosacea to disappear after I took Priya’s creams ? Would like to know the time frame I shd expect recovery for.

        Your skin looks good now so I’m guessing all is ok with you now :)

      7. it’s just doxycycline. I didn’t wanna take it cause I was on doxy for two years prior and it didn’t work for me. If I don’t remember wrongly, there was clindamycin (topical antibiotic), rozex gel and a steroid cream.

        My rosacea got better, but it didn’t disappear, cause rosacea has no cure sadly :( It’s under control and was a lot better than before, but the sun, and certain stuff still triggers it at times. You should give yourself at least 2 mths whenever trying any new meds :)

        My skin still looks sucky but it’s improving… you can read my rosacea updates here: https://ohhhoney.wordpress.com/category/rosacea-2/

        I am recently trying out this medical grade honey for rosacea that’s been clinically tested for the past 2-3 mths and am happy with the progress. You can see my face condition / improvements in the link above ~

        Good luck with the doctor, hope it works out for you babe!

      8. Hi I realised I never got your name !
        Anyways went to Dr Priya Sen, and she said it’s not rosacea but more like contact dermatitis due to me putting lemon then going in the sun with no sunscreen or makeup, I kinda irritated the skin. It could lead to induced rosacea if I’m not treated.

        She gave me avenue self recovery moisturizer and bio derma cleanser with her own brand of serum. And protopic cream saying that if it causes burning stop using it.

        Honestly I read up about atopic and it has a lot of side effects on people , can gave withdrawal symptoms once you stop blabla, heard of the cream before ?

      9. Hi I realised I never got your name !
        Anyways went to Dr Priya Sen, and she said it’s not rosacea but more like contact dermatitis due to me putting lemon then going in the sun with no sunscreen or makeup, I kinda irritated the skin. It could lead to induced rosacea if I’m not treated.

        She gave me avene self recovery moisturizer and bio derma cleanser with her own brand of serum. And protopic cream saying that if it causes burning stop using it.

        Honestly I read up about atopic and it has a lot of side effects on people , can gave withdrawal symptoms once you stop blabla, heard of the cream before ?

      10. Hi dear, I am Jenn :)
        Thats good! At least its something that can be treated. I have used Avene self recovery before, and currently am using bioderma to remove my makeup / cleanse my face (the sensibio one) with cotton pads. It’s very gentle and works wonders for me.

        I havent used or heard of protopic cream before, but if you use according to her instructions should be fine :)

  2. Hi thanks for your quick reply ! Appreciate it . Went to joyce lim from paragon and and she still diagnosed as excema. Even though it’s not itchy and it’s also red and feels hot . Ears are red too.

    I would like to have a third diagnose. From the doc u went to at nsc, since she was the one who diagnosed u the first time as rosacea and sb right ? What’s her name and contact please?

    Trinity I feel is more to maintain your skins balance and provides laser treatment so that’s more their speciality.

    Let me know soon as so I can be diagnosed fast! Thanks !

  3. Hi Jennie

    I’m reading your blog from across the world. And it’s a really interesting read – both about your adventures and rosacea :)
    As a fellow sufferer of rosacea, I was wondering if you still use the Kanuka Honey and would recommend it for symptoms like redness and burning?
    Appreciate your advice and thoughts in generel about this pesky desease!

    Susan

    1. Hi Susan! Thanks for dropping a message! Yes, I have continued to use the Kanuka Honey till this day.

      I find it very useful for me when I am having a flare-up. Will just leave the honey on for hours while I go about my nightly routine. It helps reduce the pustules too.

      Honey is generally a very good anti-inflammatory agent so it works great to soothe the skin. Recommend you to give it a try if you experience burning quite often :)

Leave a Reply

