[Sponsored] IPL at Trinity Medical Centre

Recently I’ve been told by quite a few people that my skin is improving and that I looked more radiant. I previously blogged about my experience with Rosacea, a skin condition which is chronic and needs to be managed for life.

Even as my condition got better, I still faced problems like occasional breakouts and redness. The medications and creams from my previous doctors can only do so much.

I was really excited to visit Trinity Medical Centre (Marine Parade) to consult with Dr Lim and see what he can offer to do for my skin.

My ultimate goal?

To achieve clear, smooth skin with an even skin tone. I’m sure that’s the goal for most of you girls (& guys) out there.

I had a consultation with Dr Lim and he was able to tell me that I’m suffering from Rosacea despite not asking extensive questions.

He suggested doing Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) for my skin as it will help to reduce redness, treat prominent superficial blood vessels and help with active breakouts.

Sounds exactly like what I needed and I know I was in safe hands cause this doctor knows what he is doing.

*IPL can be done at 4-6 week intervals, and to see results, more than one session may be necessary.

First treatment

I’m gonna share a little on how IPL treatment is done so you guys can understand the process a little better :)

I was suffering from a bout of outbreaks due to a busy period and was really excited to see what IPL can do for my persistent breakouts and redness.

Step 1: The therapist / clinic assistant cleanses my face by removing all traces of make-up/products (Sorry for the lack of ‘before’ photos cause I just had my double eyelid surgery and can barely open my eyes)

Step 2: After which, a clear cold gel is applied all over the skin. This is to protect the skin. They also gave me a pair of goggles to protect my eyes during the procedure.

Trinity_Aesthetics_Singapore_Trinity Medical_IPL_facial_review_ohhhoney_photofacial_doctor_recommendation (3)

Step 3: The doctor zaps my face, focusing more on areas where I have redness & spots. The zap feels just like a rubber band has snapped on your skin. A little bit of pain (I have a low threshold), but nothing unbearable.

Trinity_Aesthetics_Singapore_Trinity Medical_IPL_facial_review_ohhhoney_photofacial_doctor_recommendation (2)

Thoughts after the 1st treatment: Felt that my skin tone became more even just 2 days after the first session. I kept thinking if it was just a placebo effect, but others told me the same thing too! Really excited and looking forward to the next session.

2nd treatment

Had some minor breakouts (big one on the chin, yikes!) after the first session but I think it’s normal to have some light purging. Dirt and gunk, take my money and go!

Dr Lim kept to the same fluence setting this time round as it seemed to work well for the first session. He focused more on my red areas this time round and also targeted the active breakouts on my face.

Trinity_aesthetics_Singapore_review_IPL_photofacial_fotofacial

Thoughts after the 2nd treatment: Felt that my skin tone is really more even, and breakouts come and go at a faster rate. I definitely feel that the redness is well controlled.

3rd treatment

Travelled to Korea and my skin suffered cause it was so cold there. It was breaking out, peeling and all… I realised that when my skin is dry (from not moisturising well when it’s cold / dry), it tends to clog up the pores and my breakouts start.

I headed down to the clinic asking Dr Lim to save my skin. He adjusted the frequency this time round and “zappppppppp”.

After just 2 days, my skin started looking much better. My skin is now noticeably smoother and more evenly toned than before.

Only wearing sunblock, no foundation / powder

amore_silver_singapore_jewelry_silver_925_review_blog_ohhhoney_blog_test

Why I love having my treatments at Trinity Medical Centre (Marine Parade) is two thingsprofessionalism and genuine care from the heart.

To be honest, I’m damn scared of pain one. I’m the kind who will get nervous breakdowns when i’m afraid. But the therapist assisting me never fails to make me feel relaxed, constantly comforting me when I’m nervously waiting for the doctor to come into the room.

Dr Lim is very professional and attentive, asking me what’s my pain score after every few zaps. He’s also very friendly lah, still share beauty tips with me whenever I ask him anything.

For those who are interested to do facial IPL, you probably have some questions.

Is there any pain doing this procedure?

I have a really low pain tolerance (I make a big fuss out of every little pain) but I really found it acceptable for me. Every zap is like stretching a rubber band lightly and smacking it against your skin. This is repeated until your entire face is covered.

Is there any downtime for this treatment?

I feel that there is a little bit of redness after treatment but it goes away in an hour or two. The therapist applies a sunblock on for me after IPL and I’m all set to go out afterwards! However, do note that the general advice is to stay out of the sun after treatment :)

Are there any visible effects after your first IPL session?

Everybody’s skin is unique and responds differently to treatment. Generally, IPL takes a few sessions to show optimal results. I guess I got lucky cause I did see a difference – my skin was more evenly toned just 2 days after my first IPL session.

Dr Lim told me IPL is one of the best treatments for Rosacea, in particular for the redness of the skin. Repeated treatment will likely be necessary to remove newly formed superficial blood vessels or during flare-ups.

What is the difference you see after a few IPL sessions?

I feel like my pores have definitely became less obvious, and that my skin has a much more even tone now. Redness has definitely reduced and breakouts come and go much faster than before.

Overall, I love the difference it has made to my skin texture – so so so much softer and less bumpy than before! I can now go out without bb cream and not feel conscious about my redness on the cheeks and chin.

I honestly feel that this procedure is non-invasive and is worth a try if you have problems with redness, acne, uneven skin tone etc.

There are so many Aesthetic Clinics out there which gives one many choices to choose from, but to find one which is professional yet display genuine care – you know this one’s definitely a keeper.


Trinity Medical Centre (Marine Parade)
87 Marine Parade Central
#02-500A, Singapore 440087
Tel: 6344 0027
Follow them on Facebook
http://www.trinityaesthetics.com.sg

You may also like to check out more aesthetic treatments done at Trinity Medical Centre by other bloggers:

http://jermaineee.com/2014/02/05/5529/ http://ponyonhighstreet.blogspot.sg/2014/03/trinity-medical-centre.html
http://www.chevonnecheng.com/2014/06/skincare-trinity-medical-centre.html
http://www.amandaleong.com/2014/04/06/carbon-laser-peel-trinity-medical-centre/
http://www.jadeseah.com/clear-bright/

One comment

Leave a Reply

