Tim Ho Wan Singapore // 添好运

I know, I know. I’m slow. I’m just not the type to go queue for food cause I really hate to wait. Luckily Tim Ho Wan opened a few outlets in SG and we don’t have to queue for hours to try out their one-michelin star quality dimsum at Plaza Sing.

Is it worth the hype? Keep scrolling.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The famous baked bun with bbq pork. Gotta admit, this was pretty good. The crust was crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. The char siew was really flavorful and not at all too sweet. When put together, it’s like a match made in heaven.. *slurps*
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Steamed pork ribs were pretty delicious. If I were to use three words to describe them, it would be soft, tender and juicy.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

One of their famous dishes is definitely the steamed egg cake. And I can see why.  It’s so very soft and fluffy, like a marshmallow. But way more delicious. I could eat this over and over and not get sick of it.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Prawn in beancurd skin was pretty normal. Prawns were fresh but nothing special about this, really.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Prawn chee cheong fun. Yet another very normal dish. Tasted like the one I had in Chong Pang market. We also tried the char siew & pork liver chee cheong fun – all of them wasn’t good enough for me to go ‘wow’.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The carrot cake wasn’t too bad!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The osmanthus cake wasn’t good. There’s a really artificial taste to it. Tasted like essential oil in my mouth. I couldn’t take more than 2 mouths of this.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Overall, it wasn’t too bad a dining experience but I feel that the long queues are overrated. The food is not bad, but it’s not good enough to make me queue for an hour for it. I’ve tried equally good or better ones at half the price.

Each dish was about $5 – $6-ish and our total bill came up to about $130 for 5 pax, which wasn’t too expensive considering how much food we ordered.

I suggest trying out the new outlets at Bedok / Toa Payoh which is less crowded than the one at PS / Westgate if you’re interested in trying them out.

Tim Ho Wan is now available at:

Westgate
3 Gateway Drive #01-13/14
Westgate, Jurong East
Singapore 608532
Tel: (65) 6686 2000

Bedok Mall
311 New Upper Changi Road #B1-51/52
Singapore 467360
Tel: (65) 6246 2000

Plaza Singapura
68 Orchard Road #01-29A
Singapore 238839
Tel: (65) 6251 2000

Toa Payoh
450 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh Hersing Centre #02-02
Singapore 319394
(65) 6483 2000

One comment

Leave a Reply

