Naoki Yoshihara by Ash (Liang Court)

[Sponsored review]

Hi guys! こんにちは! Chinese New Year is nearly here and I am so thankful that I got my hair fixed at Naoki Yoshihara by Ash, an authentic Japanese hair salon in Singapore :)

Naoki Yoshihara by Ash

To be honest, I’ve never been to a Japanese salon before. Sure, I’ve tried some Japanese branded salons like Shunji Matsuo etc but the stylists and techniques doesn’t seem any different from Spore or international brand salons. I was super excited to finally have a Japanese stylist do my hair cause all the japanese models hair look so perfect!

If you didn’t know, I was born with curly hair.

REALLY CURLY HAIR.

Curlier than twister fries and some say Hermione Granger.

I do rebonding every year. The last time I rebonded was about one year ago, at a salon in Vivocity. It cost me $450 and my hair was severely damaged. One year on, my new hair grew out thus I have curly hair on top, straight on the bottom.

Please brace yourself. (This is my virgin hair with no straightening iron or product)

Naoki Yoshihara by Ash_Singapore_Japanese_Salon_Review_blog_rebonding_straightening_for_Damaged_hair (2)

Met my stylist Megu-san! She’s super petite and kawaii in real life! As Megu-san just got here and is not so proficient in English yet, the manager Kazutaka-san chats with me to find out my concerns and what I wanted to achieve out of today’s session.

I opted for rebonding since I have short hair now. Also maybe cause short curly short hair might make me look like an auntie. My other request is that I don’t want the rebonding to turn out flat, which is always the case when I rebond my hair. It sticks to the head and makes my face look extremely fat!

Naoki Yoshihara by Ash_Japanese_salon_Singapore_Review_blog_rebonding_straightening_for_damaged_hair

My worst problem is that I have sensitive skin and most salons, despite telling them that before doing my hair, THEY NEVER EVER LISTEN. They apply rebonding cream onto my face, comb my face, scratch my face, let the water splatter all over when shampooing, blow the really hot hairdryer in my face – I always end up leaving the salon looking like a monkey’s ass (red and itchy).

So I searched ‘sensitive skin’ & ‘itchy’ on google, and got the word ‘Binkan hada’ and ‘Kayui’, showed it to Megu-san and she immediately understood. She took the extra care to not let my hair touch my skin. For that, I’m super thankful ❤

Okay so we started off with a shampoo!

Some stylists shampoo my head so hard I want to ask them…
“You washing my hair or ripping my head off huh bro?!”

Naoki Yoshihara by Ash_Singapore_Review_Japanese_salon_blog_rebonding_straightening_for damaged hair

Megu-san used a soft fleece cloth to cover my face so water won’t splatter all over. It’s the first time I get wrapped up with a towel, an anti-wet drape, and a fleece blanket when going for a hair wash. She was extremely gentle in washing and exerted pressure in the right spots.

And while Megu-san was blowing dry my hair, I took a look around the salon and………. spotted cute looking stylists! (See, I always share good stuffs)

Naoki_yoshihara_by_Ash_Singapore_review_blog

What happened in the next 2 hours (other than a lot of selfies)

Shampoo -> Cut -> Rebonding cream for 20 mins -> Rinse  -> Leave-in Treatment -> Straighening iron -> After rebonding Cream for 3 minutes -> Treatment > Rinse -> Done! It’s seriously the fastest rebonding ever.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The final look. Can’t do coloring right after rebonding :( My current hair color makes my hair looks awfully dry (when it’s actually not). I am going to dye it in a darker shade in 2 weeks time so it’s gonna look even! :)

Naoki Yoshihara by Ash_Singapore_Japanese_Salon_Review_blog_rebonding_straightening_for_Damaged_hair (3)

Since I am done with my hair, it’s time to take some photos around the salon. Let’s take a look at how the place looks like!

Naoki_yoshihara_by_Ash_Singapore_review_blog (2)

Naoki_yoshihara_by_Ash_Singapore_review_blog (3)

Products brought in from Japan. All products used during the entire treatment were Japanese products. You know how your hair smells like after rebonding? Their rebonding cream is not smelly at all compared to other salon’s!

IMG_9429

IMG_9427

And I spotted Tsukasa-san doing his own hair! かわいい!! KAWAII!

IMG_9422

ありがとう Megu-san, for making my hair more manageable!
Naoki Yoshihara by Ash_Singapore_Japanese_Salon_Review_blog_rebonding_straightening_for_Damaged_hair (5)

And if you always thought Japanese salons are going burn a hole in your pocket, you will be quite happy to know that prices are pretty reasonable. I was like :O when I found out that it’s cheaper than some no brand salon I visited last year.

Rebonding: $318 (includes hair-cut)
Treatment: $50 (add-on service)
Treatment alone will cost $80 with no other hair services.

If you’re keen for an authentic Japanese salon experience,

Naoki Yoshihara by Ash
177 River Valley Road
Liang Court  #02-15/16
Singapore 179030
+65 6333 5662  l   Facebook

Leave a Reply

