Braologie: Pilot launch

Hello! Well, this is going to be a little awkward.. cause I’m gonna be sharing on an intimate topic today. It’s helpful and I hope you girls take 5 minutes to finish this entry!

I had the chance to take part in a pilot programme launch by a new company which helps women find a perfect fit for their undergarments by analysing one’s body shape and problem areas.

That’s me below. (Please, don’t judge my saggy boobs)

As you can see, I have rather saggy boobs and shoulders #depressed

So, I took these pictures as they required me to, and sent it in. Waited for a day or two and I got my analysis report!

It’s a long and comprehensive report so I’m just going to paste some of the key observations. Here goes.

Main observations

● Your head is appeared slightly pushed forwards. Ideally, the head should sit directly on the neck and shoulders. A forward head posture can increase the strain placed on the soft tissues and may result in fatigue and pain on neck, shoulder and upper back.

● An exaggerated kyphosis in the thoracic spine. People with kyphotic postures often have neck and shoulder pain.

● Slumped shoulders

● Lack of fullness on the upper part of the breasts.

● Breasts are slightly separate on your torso and have two or more fingers separation between them.

● The curve of your lumbar region appears inconsiderably abnormal. There is possibility of lower back curves inwards more than it would naturally do.

What Are The Potential Factors Affect Posture and Body Shape?

●  Your head is pushed forwards as if you were rushing. Forward head posture is one of the common postural problems. Repetitive use of computers, TV, backpacks and even ill-fitted bra have forced the body to adapt to a forward head posture. Forward head posture has also been linked to an ill-fitted bra. Women who wear the wrong size bra often have problems maintaining correct posture.

This can lead to slouching rather than sitting and standing upright, as well as unexplained pain and fatigue on neck, shoulder, back and waist. Large breasts increase the stress on the spine because the breasts are putting uneven pressure on the upper torso. Gravity makes the front of the body pull to the front and poke your head forward so that the muscles can work to hold it balanced on the neck when the bra is not giving enough support to your chest.

The extra load can pull the shoulders depressed and results in slumped shoulders. Also, the back muscles will have to work harder to keep the shoulders in the correct position leading to the tension and strain in the upper back and neck. Consequently, the structures behind the cervical spine are kept in a tight position in the daily posture.

●  In addition to forward head posture, an exaggerated lordotic curve in the cervical spine accompanies a kyphotic posture can be observed. Kyphosis is a condition in which the spine displays an abnormal curve, causing a slouch or a hunchback. It is also appeared that your spine curves too much. Everyone’s spine naturally curves a tiny bit but people with scoliosis have a spine that curves too much. If you continue to wear a bra that cannot provide enough support to your breasts, it is possible to develop severe curvature.

● Rounded shoulders are actually a postural abnormality caused by spending hours on a hunched position. For example, hunched over behind a computer or desk, while driving a car or watching television, or while performing repetitive tasks on the job. In these forward-reaching positions, your chest, shoulders and hip muscles become shortened and tight while the muscles of your upper and middle back weaken. When you are slumped over or hunched over, not standing straight, you can add years to your appearance. For women, the more rounded the shoulders, the more breasts may sag. Any woman, no matter what her age, can help reduce the sag by nearly 50 percent by simply standing tall. Poor posture sends a message of depression, low energy and low self esteem.

●  A loss of fullness on the upper breasts. The flattening of upper breasts is usually associated to the loss of support of tissues and the resultant droopiness of the breast tissue. There are a number of factors that will influence this including breast size, prior pregnancy and breast feeding and also poor support over years. The effect of gravity is more dramatic in the breast because the deep attaching ligaments which maintain breast position and keep the breast from falling are really fine. If we lean forward when we stand and this can cause us to have breasts that sag down. If we wear a bra that is loose fitting even to a small extent, it is sure to develop sagging breasts and bad-looking shape.

I agree that my boobs are not as perky as I would like them to be. And I do have a hunching problem. They have recommended some products for me and I should receive the samples in my mailbox soon!

My follow-up post where I receive and try on their products here!

13 comments

  1. I’ll right away grab your rss as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me recognize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  2. A bra will not keep your breasts from sagging. There is no medical evidence that any contraption will keep gravity from doing what is natural. In my observation, bras tend to do more damage (and likely as you point out – from ill-fitting bras) than good. There is also some study on muscle and tissue atrophy from wearing a bra for many decades.

    1. I agree with you littlesundog :) I guess If we have to wear something for so many hours a day, it is important to find something that’s comfortable and fits us well at the very least :)

      In my country, if we do not wear a bra out, we get stared at or placed on a website called Stomp (where people disgrace those who act out of the norm). Thank you for the info on muscle and tissue atrophy – will read up on that!

  3. I just want to say I’m all new to blogging and absolutely savored this blog. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You actually have superb articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing your blog site.

  4. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your site? My blog
    is in the very same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Regards!

Leave a Reply

